top of page
Search
  • allitaylorqueen

October Tot School Round Up : Spiders


Graham: 3 Years Old / Beckett- 6 Months Old


To finish out the month of October, we learned about all things spiders! My son is really into creepy crawly things, so this was really up his alley!


We didn’t have a chance to go to the library, so I only had a few books for our books basket. We read, “Little Miss Muffet,” “Itsy-Bitsy Spider,” and a page from “Bug Hotel” from Usborne Books & More.




To practice letter identification, I made a large spider web and used stickers to put letter “spiders” on them. I then had Graham match the correct letter sticker to the letter spider on the web. He thought this was really cool!



We learned the parts of a spider with a printout/ matching activity that I found off Pinterest. I laminated it and used velcro dots so that we could reuse the activity multiple times!



For math/counting/numbers, I found a “Counting Spiders” emergent reader of TPT. I read it to Graham and had him color each spider, count the spiders, and then circle the number of spiders on each page. He did very well with this.

I also found two spider web counting activities I had printed out last year for him. One was just a paper with nine spider webs and the numbers 1-9. We used black paint and his fingerprint to put “spiders” on the web that corresponded to each number.

I then had mini spider webs printed and laminated with numbers 1-5, and we used fake spiders from the dollar tree to match the number on each web.





In our sensory bin I used the same spiders that I used for the counting activity, and put them in Kinetic Sand and I let him explore! We made spider prints and he also like to bury them!

Last but not least we did several crafts! We made a spider hat, spider web, and a simple spider. I also printed a play dough mat spider activity out where Graham made the spider have eight legs and six eye balls.





This was probably his favorite theme so far. Every time he finished something he would ask to do another “actibity.” I love watching him learn and enjoy himself while doing it! I will link all the crafts/activites below. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out!

Alli


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page